Daily Archives: November 17, 2014

Everyone Gets Arrested but Bender

I’ve been watching too much Futurama. If there is such a thing.

 

Nearly the whole cast has turned up,

All of Futurama

Out the window, fighting

Each other and civilians.

It’s a game turned mayhem, and

No one’s surprised when the cops arrive

Except Bender –

The greatest fight he’s ever started,

But only the participants arrested

And him alone inside, with no credit.

And a jaunty wave from the police.

Flee

This was one of the most vivid dreams I’ve had for a while…probably because I like to do this kind of running-away-and-hiding thing with actual people in real life. Not because I don’t want to talk to them, but just as a sort of game with myself if I’m bored.

 

I am beauty trapped

In the castle of the beast.

As in all the stories, he isn’t

Unkind, but

It’s awkward to talk to him,

And he talks every time I see him.

I flee awkward situations.

Luckily the castle is

A maze of unlocked doors and

Spiral stairwells – when he opens

One, I dart through another,

Keep up the chase until he stops.

But tonight he catches sight of me

Too close,

Unexpected,

And I dive down a stairwell but

Don’t choose the right door,

Leaving me alone

With him

In a drawing room with a couch.

He speaks so softly, and really I don’t

Hate him, but when I sit next to him

Like he asks, all I feel is

Guilt that all I do is run away,

Guilt that I cause him pain,

Guilt that he still can’t touch me

Because I don’t forgive him

Even though I wish I could.

This is why

When we part, I find

A pathway he doesn’t use,

And run.